Why Better Cooling Means Better Driving: RC Blog

Posted: June 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I am learning more and more each day when it comes to the RC hobby in general, more specifically the competitive side of things. I have recently been spending a lot of time at my local dirt track, racing short course truck modified circuit. I have been spending a lot of time trying to get better. One thing I noticed early on is after a few minutes, maybe 10-15 or so of racing my slash would turn off, well slow down and the red indicator light was flashing.

Warning: Total Noob Moment:

Forever I was just thinking that my battery had died, even though I was rocking 5000 Mah batteries I was Ok with it. I would drive the truck onto the pit, take the battery out and put it on the charger.

What I noticed was the batteries were only taking about 2000 Mah before saying they are fully charged, that was when I finally put it all together, the battery wasn’t dying the motor and ESC were over-heating. I felt like a total idiot, and I am glad I figured it out on my own. I invested about 4o bucks into the Traxxas ESC cooling fan as well as a fan for the motor. I raced back to the track after installing the extra cooling and found that my time on the track had doubled now with the additional cooling!
Why It Makes You Better

The reason is very simple. The more lap time you can get in, the more practice you get, and ultimately the better you get. If you are like me, and have to sneak out of the house go get extra lap time in, or operate on a limited time budget (like mine which is heavily regulated by a wife who lovingly refers to RC Cars as “toys”) the more efficient you can make your time at the track practicing the better you are going to fair when it comes to race day.

The small investment in cooling meant a lot more time having fun and honing skills for me and it is something you should keep in mind on your qwest to get better too!

rc car,rc truck

Leave a Reply

